Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

Twitter Rolls Out “Unmention” Feature For All Users

0 501

In April of last year, Twitter introduced a new “Unmention” feature which lets users remove themselves from certain conversations. However, to the disappointment of many, it was only rolled out to a selected few for testing.

Now, more than a year later, the company has recently revealed that this ability is now finally available to all of its users across the globe.

As implied by its name, the feature unlinks the user’s handle from a Twitter thread that they are tagged in, therefore cutting them off from newer replies as well as notifications, re-mentions, and so on. The platform says its introduction is intended to prevent users from receiving “unwanted attention” that could lead to harassment or spam.

To “unmention” yourself from a thread on Twitter, simply tap on the “three dots” icon on the right side of a tweet that you’re tagged in, and then select “Leave this conversation.” Users are able to fully utilise this new ability on both web and mobile app versions of the social media platform. For the latter, be sure to update it to the latest version available in order to enjoy the newly added feature.

Keep in mind that leaving a conversation would not remove your username, so users are still able to see it in earlier tweets. But on a positive note, you will no longer receive any notifications from the thread’s newer tweets, and those still participating won’t be able to tag you again after you’ve chosen to leave.

Source: Lowyat

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.